Massage Heaven for $19

11 10 2008

Did you know that feng shui is one of the Eight Rays of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM)?  Feng shui, acupuncture, chi gong, food energetics, herbal medicine and several other specialized disciplines are all based on the same ancient cosmological and earth-based knowledge of how to manipulate energy flow for health and wellbeing.

The Chinese massage I just got at A New Generation Health Center may or may not be aligned with these same ideals, but I’ll tell you this… I couldn’t wait to get home and tell you all about it!

For just $19, I had a great massage. I went in expecting “just” my feet to get taken care of. Instead, I got an hour of professional attention, starting with my face, head, neck and shoulders while my feet soaked. Then a long time on each foot – maybe 15 minutes each, and I thought I was done. Nope. Legs, arms, and then I turned over for back and butt.

This is not a spa — it’s caddy corner to Popeye’s on Geneva at Mission (919 Geneva), not Maiden Lane. No scented products, no fancy robes or slippers, and heck, no English! But accessible (they’re open 10am-9pm, 7 days a week), cheap, and good!

(No website either, but here’s their phone number, in case you speak Mandarin: 415-239-9668.)

Actions

Information

One response

21 10 2008
Nicole

Thank you, Alison, for taking me here! It’s my newest tale to tell everyone I know… the diamond in the rough of a busy street corner. No one can believe it’s so cheap! Not only did my shoulder tension vanish, but my heel pain was also significantly diminished! I’m definitely going there again as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

